Motor Sport Hall of Fame Awards
Date7 Jun 2017
Event TypeShow / Conference (Cars)
LocationRAC Club, Woodcote Park, Epsom
CountryUnited Kingdom
ContactName : Rebecca Leppard
Tel : 01452 260063
Mobile : 07749 852481
NotesVoting is now open for this year’s Motor Sport Hall of Fame ceremony, which will return to the spectacular Royal Automobile Club at Woodcote Park on June 7. You can help decide who will join the 34 greats that have been inducted since 2010 – names such as John Surtees, Mario Andretti, Enzo Ferrari, Sir Stirling Moss and Michael Schumacher.

In the Formula 1 category, Karun Chandhok and Mark Hughes helped to compile a short list of 12 names, including fan favourites Gilles Villeneuve, Nigel Mansell and Ronnie Peterson. On the 50th anniversary of their famous DFV engine being introduced, Mike Costin and Keith Duckworth have also been nominated, along with former Ferrari mastermind Jean Todt, current technical guru Paddy Lowe and renowned designer John Barnard. Three-time world champion Nelson Piquet joins his former team-mate Mansell on the list, and there are double title winners in the shape of Emerson Fittipaldi and Mika Häkkinen.

From the pre-Formula 1 era of Grand Prix racing comes Bernd Rosemeyer, the hard-charging German who tamed the pre-war Auto Unions like no other, while the list is completed by the late, great Chris Amon – a man who Ferrari’s Mauro Forghieri rated as highly as Jim Clark.

Last year’s inductee Derek Bell and Gary Watkins supervised the Sports Car contenders, among whom are four names returning from 2016: Pedro Rodríguez, ‘Quick Vic’ Elford, Brian Redman and team boss John Wyer. Fellow Porsche star Jo Siffert is among those added to the short list, as is double Le Mans winner Hans-Joachim Stuck. The man who shared the victorious 962 with Stuck and Bell on both those occasions, Al Holbert, is another contender – as is renowned team principal Norbert Singer.

Andy Wallace won on his Le Mans debut in 1988, and was on the podium with Bell in 1995. He’s on the list along with American hero Phil Hill, three times a winner at both Le Mans and Sebring. They’re joined by Bob Wollek and the unforgettable Stefan Bellof.

Valentino Rossi deservedly topped last year’s Motorcycling category, so his place on the short list is taken by legendary marque founder Soichiro Honda. Freddie Spencer and Mat Oxley decided to keep the names similar to last year so returning from 2016 are Mike Hailwood and Joey Dunlop, plus an international cast comprising Kevin Schwantz, Casey Stoner, Wayne Rainey, Mick Doohan, Geoff Duke, Freddie Spencer, Kenny Roberts and Eddie Lawson. Britain’s two-time 500c world champion Barry Sheene completes a stellar cast.

The nominees for the US Racing category include some of the greatest names in motor sport history. Richard Petty, ‘The King’ himself and winner of 200 NASCAR races plus seven championships, is joined by tough Texan AJ Foyt – a man who won both the Indy and Daytona 500s, and the Le Mans and Daytona 24-hour races. Mark Donohue has also been shortlisted, as has his former team boss Roger Penske.

Bill France Snr and Jnr – the driving forces behind NASCAR – have been selected alongside four-time series champion Jeff Gordon and the legendary Dale Earnhardt Snr. The line-up is completed by drag-racing superstar John Force, Chaparral mastermind Jim Hall, multiple NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson, Al Unser Snr and four-time Indy 500 winner Rick Mears.

Not only can you vote for your favourites, you can be there on the night to rub shoulders with the great and the good of the motor racing world. The prestigious black tie dinner will be hosted by Jennie Gow, while before the event there will be an H&H auction plus demonstrations of numerous iconic cars and motorcycles on the Captain’s Drive.